Royal Leamington Spa
Royal Leamington Spa is one of only four Royal towns in the UK. The Royal Pump Rooms opened in 1814 attracting the wealthy and famous, leading to the construction of numerous Georgian townhouses. With its growing status and popularity Queen Victoria granted the town its Royal prefix in 1838.
A statue of Queen Victoria was almost destroyed by a German bomb during World War II which moved the statue one inch on its plinth by the blast.
The first tennis club in the world was also formed in 1872 by Major Henry Gem and Augurio Pereira and the modern rules of lawn tennis were drawn up in 1874 at the Leamington Tennis Club.
With its period properties, stunning Jephson Garden Park, proximity to the luscious Warwickshire countryside (whilst still being commutable to Birmingham and Coventry) Royal Leamington Spa is a popular place to live within affluent south Warwickshire. Though the town has expanded its suburbs amalgamating nearby villages, the town’s Council have gone to great length to preserve the town center’s buildings and heritage. This also makes it popular for weekend shoppers visiting its wide array of independent boutiques and restaurants, as well as with film crews looking for period property features.
Royal Leamington Spa also boasts a hive of SMEs profiting for its great rail and motorway network connecting the town easily to the West Midlands, Birmingham Airport and London.